|Steak Stuffed Peppers|

Planning for this week’s post was a little tough. I asked around at work to see what people were hungry for. I got many suggestions but landed on STUFFED PEPPERS! I LOVE stuffed peppers! Pre-Paleo I made the BEST peppers! Full of corn, Mexican rice, cheese, ground beef and salsa. SO MUCH CHEESE!

I have made them paleo a few times. The never turned out well at all. I couldn’t get past the lack of rice and cheese. So this week I wanted to impress myself! Shew Doggie! It was amazing! Just had leftovers for lunch!

So this week! I made some changes- in the past I used quinoa instead of rice. I think that is what threw me off every time! So I made cilantro lime cauliflower rice! So easy and so delicious!cauliflower-rice


Cilantro Lime Cauliflower Rice:

1 head cauliflower

1/4 cup cilantro

1/2 limes worth of juice

Directions: Break florets off of the head and put into your food processor. Use the grating tool. Shred the entire head and throw into a steamer. You can also use a grater if you don’t have a food processor. Steam until the rice becomes soft. Add cilantro and lime and set aside.


I normally choose my protein I use by what is one sale at Whole Foods. Monday they had New York Strips on sale.


Spicy Steak:steak

1 New York strip

Chili Powder

Cumin

Salt

Pepper

Garlic salt

Olive Oil

Directions: Thoroughly season both sides of the steak and let it sit while your pan warms up. Add olive oil to the pan over medium heat. Sear 5-8 minutes on each side for medium or longer until cooked to a temperature of your choice. Remove from pan and let rest on a cooling rack until ready to use.


Now that we have our fillings! Lets get to the good stuff!


Steak Stuffed Peppers:

2 Peppersstuffed-peppers-2

1 small sweet potato

5 baby port mushrooms

1/2 cup spinach

1 cup Cilantro Lime Cauliflower Rice

1/4 pound Spicy Steak

Salsa

Salt

Pepper

Cumin

Chili Powder

Directions: Preheat oven to 350. Wash your peppers and cut in half. Clean out the seeds and set them face down in the oven. (I forgot about mine and they actually turned out perfect!) Prepare your Cilantro Lime Cauliflower Rice. Cook your Spicy Steak.

Dice your sweet potato and mushrooms and place into skillet with olive oil over medium heat. Season with salt, pepper, cumin, and chili powder. Sautee until the potatoes are soft. Then add the spinach and cook until wilted.

By this time your peppers should be nice and toasted. Remove from oven and assemble your peppers. Rice, Sweet potato sautee and diced steak. Top with salsa. Cover dish with foil and put in the oven for 15 minutes! Just enough time for all of the ingredients to marry together and warm back up!


stuffed-peppers

I wasn’t sure what I wanted for a side this week. I was stacking some bananas at work and looked down at the plantains. I have never made them before and have never eaten one. What kind of Produce Team Leader hasn’t ever had a plantain…. This gal!  I was most excited about trying something new!


Fried Plantains:

2 Plantains

Cinnamon

Cumin

Olive Oil

Directions: Add olive oil to a medium skillet over medium high heat. Cut your plantains to your liking. I cut them 2 ways- In half length wise and sliced at an angle. I like how the sliced ones cooked up better. Add them to the skillet and dust with cinnamon and cumin. Cook until browned on both sides.


I made two vegan ones and 2 steak ones. The vegan ones had no meat and vegan cheese.

This week’s post was fun! I had a lot of elements that weren’t complicated. They came together to make a great dish that suited both of our lifestyles perfectly!

Hope you enjoyed this week’s post! I had a blast cooking away in my little kitchen!

This broad is on her way to do some yoga!

Until next week, y’all!

Leave a Reply

