Meat Log Blog

Happy Monday, Y’all!

I am anxiously counting down the days until I get to go see Kelly Clarkson this week in Indianapolis. I am pee my pants excited, it’s hard to focus at work! I am a little nervous though, because I have been fighting this cold all weekend. I need my body to get it together because I have to be able to sing with the Voice of Angels. I have been drinking herbal tea and taking garlic herb pills trying to kick this little bug.

IMG_32271

I had a super great meal planned for Saturday. I was slow roasting some Wild Boar Ribs and made this delicious farm fresh organic salad. I had just taken the ribs out to let them set for a bit while I finished up my last side dish. I have no clue how I made this rookie mistake, but I turned the heat on my pan and added some olive oil- chopped up my veggies, organic striped zucchini, patty pan squash and red pepper. Dropped the first handful in…. my hands got splashed with the super duper hott= oil… I have super terrible burns on both hands- they are starting to blister today and it makes my heart sad. Needless to say, the meal didn’t get finished because my pride was broken and my hands couldn’t function.

To perk myself up on Sunday, I went brunch with my Best Chicago Friend, Jess, and then went to North Avenue Beach. I had bacon pancakes with lots of butter and syrup; because who doesn’t love being bloated at the beach!  It was a beautiful day! It was overcast and 80 degrees, I really cannot complain. Perfect day. Sunday’s are always so wonderful!

IMG_32051 (please don’t mind the random beach bums sitting around us) 🙂

Then Monday happened.

Monday’s…….The. Worst.

I was feeling like poop all day today, I think I drank 3 different echinacea root teas today. I had a pretty decent lunch but decided I needed some good down home cooking. Nothing Paleo, diet, healthy. Forget about it!  I want to eat myself healthy again.

Meatloaf + Mashed Potatoes + Sweet Peas= Meat Log Blog

What is on the Turn Table:

IMG_67701

I figured since I was going to make the Broad’s version of my mom’s classic meal, I better do her right and play our favorite album. I. LOVE. REO. SPEEWAGON! In hinds sight, I probably should have played my Meatloaf Bat Out of Hell album; would have been super fitting.

What is in the Loaf:

IMG_32251IMG_32261

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees-

1 pound 85% ground beef

1/2 pound ground pork

1 egg

1 cup-ish of panko bread crumbs

Chopped mushrooms, oregano, and thyme

4 dashed of worcestershire sauce

couple squirts of ketchup

Salt, pepper and garlic salt to your liking

Put everything into your moms old pyrex mixing bowl and hand mix until combined. Make sure to not over mix! 🙂  Form into a loaf and drop it in a baking dish. Bake until the middle is firm to the touch. I didn’t keep track, because I was too busy dancing like my mom. ~30 minutes if I were a betting woman.

Once my loaf started to firm up, I cut up my russet potatoes and put them on to boil. Once those potatoes were tender, I added in butter and greek yogurt- because I don’t keep milk in my house, it was by the grace of god I had butter. Giant spoon fulls of both with salt and pepper. Use handmasher. TA-DAHHH!

Green Peas in butter…. no need to say anything else!!!

By the time my sides were done, I took the loaf out of the oven.

What is in My Belly:

IMG_32291

My belly is so happy. I love meatloaf. If it is on a menu at a restaurant I will order it. It is a classic and super hard to mess up. My mom also makes a sausage-loaf with homemade bbq and pineapple. She is such a legend in the kitchen. I learned how to cook by watching my mom in the kitchen. I never really started cooking until I went to college. I started trying to copy her recipes and then realized, ‘HEY! I can cook!’ and started getting creative with it. I have taken the base that I learned from my momma and made it my own. I love my time in the kitchen. It is a stress free zone- well last Saturday was hell with the burns.

Not sure what is on the menu for the rest of the week but there are enough leftovers to get me through. 🙂

Thanks y’all for reading! Stay tuned for another What is that broad cooking tomorrow night! 🙂

-L

Leave a Reply

